Vol.15, no. 1

Mission Statement

This journal of ecocriticism, founded in 2010, is a joint initiative of GIECO (Ecocritical Research Group in Spain) and EASLCE (European Association for the Study of Literature, Culture and Environment) and is published by the University of Alcalá as of 2014. Its principal aim is to further the study, knowledge and public awareness of the connections and relationship between literature, culture and the environment. As a virtual space, it provides a site for dialogue between researchers, theorists, creative writers and artists concerned with and by the environment and its degradation. Its pages are open to contributions on all literatures and cultures, but its special mission is to reflect the cultural, linguistic and natural richness and diversity of the European continent.

Contributions, which are subject to double-blind peer review, are accepted in five languages, in order to increase visibility and broaden the participation of scholars who are not part of the English-speaking world. *Ecozon@* publishes original research articles, in addition to creative writing, visual arts and book reviews. Publication is open to scholars interested in ecocriticism from around the world. We recommend membership of EASLCE to our contributors and readers, but it is not a requirement for either.

Ecozon@ is currently indexed in MLA, OAI, DOAJ, ERIH PLUS, Latindex, Dialnet, ISOC and EBUAH, the institutional repository of the University of Alcalá.

Editorial Board

Editor in Chief

Carmen Flys Junquera, Universidad de Alcalá, Spain

Associate Editor

Heather I. Sullivan, Trinity University, USA

Managing Editor

Gala Arias Rubio, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain

Assistant Production Editor

Beatriz Martin Castro, Alfonso X El Sabio University, Spain Clara Contreras Ameduri, University of Extremadura, España

Secretary

Irene Sanz Alonso, Universidad de Alcalá, Spain

Guest Editors for Special Section Vol. 15, no. 1, 2024

Melanie Duckworth, Østfold University College, Norway Lykke Guanio-Uluru, Western Norway University of Applied Sciences, Norway Antonia Szabari, University of Southern California, USA

Assistant Editor Special Section

Sofie Schrey, Northumbria University, UK

Assistant Editor General Section

Madeleine Hugai, University of Augsburg, Germany

Book Review Editor

María Isabel Perez Ramos, University of Oviedo, Spain

Book Review Assistant Editor

Sean Matharoo, University of North Carolina, USA

Creative Writing and Arts Editor

Elizabeth Tavella, University of Chicago, USA

Assistant Editors

Giulia Disanto, University of Salento, Italy

Margot Lauwers, University of Perpignan Via Domitia, France

Vanesa Roldán, University of Santiago de Compostela, Spain

Louise Squire, University of Portsmouth, UK

Assistant Editor for Communications

Alejandro Rivero Vadillo, University of Alcalá, Spain

Assistant Editor for Technological Assistance

Beatriz Lindo Mañas, IE University, Spain

Advisory Board

- Dr. Damiano Benvegnu, Dartmouth, United States
- Dr. Hannes Bergthaller, National Chung-Hsing University, Taiwan
- Dr. Margarita Carretero González, Universidad de Granada, Spain
- Dr. Juan Carlos Galeano, Florida State University, United States
- Dr. Catrin Gersdorf, Universität Würzburg, Germany
- Dr. Terry Gifford, Universidad de Alicante / Bath Spa University, United Kingdom
- Dr. Axel Goodbody, University of Bath, United Kingdom
- Dr. Christa Grewe-Volpp, Universität Mannheim, Germany
- Dr. Jason Groves, University of Washington, United States
- Dr. Ursula K. Heise, UCLA, United States
- Dr. Reinhard Hennig, University of Agder, Norway
- Dr. Isabel Hoving, University of Leiden, Netherlands
- Dr. Serenella Iovino, University of Torino, Italy
- Dr. Erin James, University of Idaho, United States
- Dr. Richard Kerridge, Bath Spa University, United Kingdom
- Dr. Lorraine Kerslake, Universidad de Alicante, Spain
- Dr. Maryanne Leone, Assumption University, United States
- Dr. Montserrat López Mujica, University of Alcalá, Spain
- Dr. Timo Maran, University of Tartu, Estonia
- Dr. José Manuel Marrero Henríquez, Universidad de Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
- Dr. Imelda Martín Junquera, Universidad de León, Spain
- Dr. Sylvia Mayer, Universität Bayreuth, Germany

- Dr. Bénédicte Meillon, University of Perpignan Via Domitia, France
- Dr. Serpil Oppermann, Hacettepe University, Turkey
- Dr. Christopher Oscarson, Brigham Young University, United States
- Dr. Manuela Palacios, Universidad Santiago de Compostela, España
- Dr. Stephanie Posthumus, McGill University, Canada
- Dr. Luis I Prádanos, Miami University, United States
- Dr. Francisco Sáez de Adana Herrero, University of Alcalá, Spain
- Dr. Catriona Sandilands, York University, Canada
- Dr. Begoña Simal, University of A Coruña, Spain
- Dr. Scott Slovic, University of Idaho, United States
- Dr. Diana Villanueva Romero, Universidad de Extremadura, Spain
- Dr. Alexa Weik von Mossner, University of Klagenfurt, Austria

Issue published 26 April 2024

DOI: https://doi.org/10.37536/ECOZONA.2024.15.1

Copyright Notice

Authors who publish with this journal agree to the following terms:

- a. Authors retain copyright and grant the journal right of first publication with the work simultaneously licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution License that allows others to share the work with an acknowledgement of the work's authorship and initial publication in this journal (CC BY-NC for articles and CC BY-NC-ND for creative work) unless author requests otherwise.
- b. Authors are able to enter into separate, additional contractual arrangements for the non-exclusive distribution of the journal's published version of the work (e.g., post it to an institutional repository or publish it in a book), with an acknowledgement of its initial publication in this journal.
- c. Authors are permitted and encouraged to post their work online (e.g., in institutional repositories or on their website) prior to and during the submission process, as it can lead to productive exchanges, as well as earlier and greater citation of published work.

Cover image: Trace Balla ©

Published by



Sponsored by









Institutional Address

Irene Sanz Alonso Secretary Instituto Franklin Colegio de Trinitarios C/ Trinidad, 1 28801 Alcalá de Henares Madrid (Spain)